From the Desk of Mr. Zissman

The musings of an over-stimulated mind

30 DAY MUSIC CHALLENGE: Day 18 – A Song That You Wish You Heard on the Radio

leave a comment »

“Move Your Feet” ~ Junior Senior

What exactly defines a tune as infectious? Is it the beat or the rhythm or even the vocals? It’s hard to pin-point exactly what makes a song catchy or makes us want to dance ourselves silly to it, but this little gem does. I remember the first time I heard this song and it was back in 2003 when I had just moved out of my parents’ house and headed right off of downtown Mansfield to a road known only as Douglas Ave. The crazy things that happened on Douglas Ave would be enough to fill several blog entries, but this entry isn’t about that Magical Place.

I had just moved in and was busy painting my new bedroom into something a little less pink. I had my CDs in my car and was too lazy to go get them and asked my brother to put something on and he chose this CD. No joke, I was instantly hooked. The rest of the CD was okay, but this was the shining gem of them all. It’s so happy and dance-able. If someone could translate what a sugar high from eating too much Pixie Sticks would sound like, it’s this. But there’s no horrible crash afterwards, just non-stop dancing and energy. Like some sort of Nick Jr version of Andrew WK.

I don’t think I’ve ever heard this song on the radio, which is a shame. It’s a perfect driving jam (or Party Car as some might be inclined to say!) and could bring some audio-sunshine to any cloudy day. It’s also my choice for Day 18, so c’mon everybody and move your feet!

Written by MrZissman

08/04/2011 at 9:44 AM

Leave a comment