From the Desk of Mr. Zissman

The musings of an over-stimulated mind

30 DAY MUSIC CHALLENGE – Day 11: A Song From Your Favorite Band(s)

leave a comment »

Jeez, this one is tough. I’ve never really given a lot of thought to who my favorite band is, considering I enjoy so many. I’ve had favorites over the years, but it’s hard to pin point just one band and say “Oh hay, this is my favorite you guyz.” Ugh, where do I even begin?

Well, there’s KISS for starters. I love rock and roll and I love a big production and KISS produces that. Breathing fire, spitting blood, pyro, killer solos, Gene growing behind the mic, it’s incredible. I’ve always wanted to see KISS live and I fully intend to one day. You count me as General in the KISS Army.

But who could forget Radiohead? Thom Yorke is the mad genius of music, constantly breaking barriers and doing whatever-the-hell he feels like doing. Whether it’s the almost indie-pop sounding “Pablo Honey”, the 21-st century Dark Side of the Moon that is “OK Computer” or the glitching, strumming, beeping masterpiece that is “Kid A”, it’s clear that it’s hard to define Radiohead.

And last, but far from least, is a personal favorite: HIM. Yes, yes, I know, it certainly plays into the Hot Topic demographic at times, but I am not ashamed to admit that I like this band. Finland’s Ville Vallo (Vill-ee Vall-oh) croons with a sweet darkness, portraying lyrics and themes that are both tragic and beautiful at the same time. His voice a deep baritone, the songs waft into your ears like the dancing smoke of a burning incense stick. In other words, it’s awesome.

So yeah, there would be my top 3 bands, at the moment. Not even sure how to pick one, so instead I’ll just pick one song from each band and you guys can decide which one should be my fav.

KISS

RADIOHEAD

HIM

Written by MrZissman

07/16/2011 at 1:00 PM

Leave a Reply

