From the Desk of Mr. Zissman

The musings of an over-stimulated mind

30 DAY MUSIC CHALLENGE – Day 6: A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere

with one comment

My academic career post 4th grade was largely unnoticeable. From kindergarten to third grade, I was a straight A student. (Except for kindergarten, which used an odd S or D grading system, if I recall correctly.) Not surprisingly, fourth grade was my big drop to struggling with my grades, as well as being the year that puberty hit me like a ton of bricks. I barely squeaked by every year and just couldn’t seem to keep my act together, especially during my abysmal junior high years.

But that all changed once eleventh grade hit and I took the vocational route and joined Marketing I. I really didn’t know what to expect and I honestly chose the class because all the rest of the vocational choices seemed boring or uninteresting to me. I was quiet and timid those first few weeks, mostly because I had no one in my limited social network in the class. I quickly befriended a man by the name of Joe Daniels, which is hilarious if you consider our differences. And no, I’m not even talking about a white/black thing, but just the cores of our personalities. You’d see us walking down the hall, brain storming our latest DECA competition project. Joe would be dressed to kill, with not a single hair or fiber out-of-place, looking like he just walked off the cover of GQ or Esquire. Then there would be me, ratty NASCAR Jeff Gordon, jeans with holes in the knees (due to wear and tear, not because I bought them that way) and dirty sneakers. Regardless, we were like a Crockett and Tubbs of pure marketing kick-ass and it was awesome.

My senior year was fantastic, but not as great as the junior one. I had started a great job at Abon Cards and Coins, I was kicking ass in DECA and I FINALLY could relax about my grades. Man, it got the point that if my teacher was busy helping another student, she’d send me to show someone how to use Microsoft Office or design a magazine ad.

Anyway, as Joe and I would work on our DECA projects during class our teacher would be kind enough to put on the radio. But we could only get one station, which was Y-105.3, which is notorious for endlessly looping the same 5-10 songs all day long. This song was on the radio all the time, to the point where I couldn’t get away from it. At the time, I loathed it with a passion but looking back at it now, I remember the song fondly for it reminds me of when Joe and I were the KINGS OF MARKETING in that classroom.

Written by MrZissman

07/11/2011 at 1:00 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Another well written entry, Steve!

    Roberta Harvey

    07/11/2011 at 2:41 PM


Leave a Reply

