From the Desk of Mr. Zissman

The musings of an over-stimulated mind

30 DAY MUSIC CHALLENGE – Day 5: A Song That Reminds You of Someone

with 4 comments

Are you familiar with the story of the Tower of Babel from the Bible?  If not, let me give you the quickie version: some dudes decide one day they want to build a big tower to Heaven. God does not like this and has it so that every man would instantly speak a different language, instead of the unified tongue they were used to. Naturally, this caused all kinds of confusion. The men all had the same goal, the same purpose, the same want, but the different languages spoken made it nigh impossible. In some ways, I look back now and feel like my Dad and I were workers on the Tower. We both had the same goal in mind, we were just speaking different languages.

If you’ve followed me, you know I wear my heart on my sleeve. I’m emotional and in some ways, starved for verbal praise. It’s the fuel that fires me, the mana that sustains me. I must have praise spoken or written to me for it to really sink in, it’s just how I am. Now my Dad is classic “actions speak louder than words” which is in direct conflict with my personal style. Dad was never the one to take me aside and say “Son, I’m proud of you.” but rather the type to work himself into near exhaustion if it meant keeping the electric turned on for one more month. Of course, being younger and full of myself, I was unable to see this.

So that’s why I chose this song, because it sums up perfectly the revelation I had about my father. All those times I would get so upset that he would hound me about checking the oil in my car, or making sure the tire pressure was up to snuff…all those times were his way of saying he loves me. The only way he knows how. So crack open a cold one, Mr. Harvey, cause this blog entry is for you!

Written by MrZissman

07/10/2011 at 1:00 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why, yes, I am quite familiar with the Tower of Babel: http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/E2M8:_Tower_of_Babel_%28Doom%29

    Erik Bosko

    07/10/2011 at 1:28 PM

  2. Steve – your post actually gave me chills! I love the way you express yourself ….

  3. What a wonderful tribute to your dad. Great job!

    Linda McCune Johnson

    07/11/2011 at 5:04 PM

    • THANKS! Be sure to tell everyone you know about my blog. I could use the exposure

      MrZissman

      07/12/2011 at 12:11 AM


Leave a Reply

