From the Desk of Mr. Zissman

The musings of an over-stimulated mind

Lent Me A Hand: Day 4 – Highway to the Manger Zone

leave a comment »

MEAT. MEAT. MEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTT.

Okay, sorry, had to get that off of my chest. Geez, you would think I have never gone a day without eating non-fish meat before. Don’t get me wrong, I like fish. I love fish, actually. I’ll eat pretty much anything that swims, but I have always gotten by knowing that I COULD eat meat if I wanted to. Yet here I was on Ash Wednesday, fasting till dinner time in which I could FINALLY enjoy food.

I’m not gonna lie, by 11 AM my tummy was mad rumbling. The Hunger was coming at me full force and I could feel my stomach loudly demanding why I had yet to fill it full of delicious meats. I may be a Catholic-In-Training, but my gut is an atheist.

By the time dinner was ready, I had inhaled two pieces of fried fish and was working on polishing off my rice before Hilary had even made a dent in her food. I devoured my dinner was such fervor and intensity that it was almost as if I had become the mighty T-Rex, stalking a lawyer as he cowardly huddles on the toilet on Isle Nublar.

Dinner was finished and after changing into some nicer clothes (wasn’t fully ready to wear a Batman tee-shirt to church just yet.) we walked down to St. Pancras for the service. It was beautiful, to say the least. Though it disheartened me to see the mass (no pun intended) of people who received their ashes and immediately high-tailed it out of there.

As of now it’s Day 4 and I think the first adjustment period is over. I decided I’m giving up “brown soda” for Lent, even if it’s diet. So that just leaves stuff like Sprite, 7-Up, ginger ale and more. As for the fish on Fridays, that’s proving to be the easiest transition now that the fasting phase is over.

So far I’m enjoying these last few weeks before my jump to the U.S.S. Catholic is complete. I often struggle with the perception of the Church from those outside it, as compared to how I feel. It does sting a bit when I hear the usual arguments against it, mostly because I was an intense anti-Catholic myself several years ago.

Basically, my stance is this: the Catholic church is far from perfect, this I willingly agree to. Has it made mistakes? Absolutely. In no way can I sit here and type this and claim that the Church has not made mistakes, even some of the most grave matters. But to me, it’s never been an issue of “EVERYTHING THEY DO IS JUST AND HOLY AND HUGHAHAAHHHUHALLAUHUH.” but rather it’s the message of the Church that entices me, not the people behind the message, if that makes sense.

To put it another way, here’s an example I heard just the other day. It sums up rather well how I feel. If we compare my last church/religion with this current one as if they were swimming pools, we see that being a Free Will Baptist is like being in a swimming pool a mile wide, but only two inches deep. Being a Catholic is a pool a mile wide and endlessly deep.

And baby, I am ready to swim.

Written by MrZissman

03/12/2011 at 12:15 PM

Leave a Reply

